Stupid beef question

Rugger

Rugger

Awards
  • Established
I read that 100g raw beef will yield about 65g cooked. What I don't understand is do or don't the nutritional values become altered when the beef is cooked or is the meat losing water only?

Additionally, if the label doesn't say values are for cooked or uncooked, am I to assume they are listed for raw beef?

ShadowFury

ShadowFury

Awards
  • Established
I'm no expert obviously, but it does lose a bit of water, and the label applies for raw beef.

ThomasRivera

ThomasRivera

Awards
  • Established
You count the raw value, then you subtract some amount for rendered out fat from the beef. The fat content slightly lowers depending on how its cooked.

ThomasRivera

ThomasRivera

Awards
  • Established
The beef fat thats left over can be used to cook other things. Vegetables are a prime candidate for this. The fat thats left over is usually very flavorful. Another use for it is eggs, incorporating aromatics like garlic or onion into it and making into a dressing, or pouring it back on your food.

Rugger

Rugger

Awards
  • Established
So what is the best method of preparation in regards to keeping the nutritional profile intact?

Steveoph

Steveoph

NutraPlanet NinjaMonkey Rep
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
So what is the best method of preparation in regards to keeping the nutritional profile intact?
Just calculate it from raw, and subtract the fat as best you can. If you're cooking a lean piece of beef like a round roast, you won't loose much fat but if you're cooking up ground beef, you will lose alot of fat (For values , see the link above)

ThomasRivera

ThomasRivera

Awards
  • Established
Hamburgers probably. What kind of cut are you using?

ThomasRivera

ThomasRivera

Awards
  • Established