recovery techniques - what really works?

dsohei

Awards
I'm a noob, just started exercising at age 32 after years of medical issues, I have ibd, anyway doms suck, I'm currently training 3x a week at local circus arts center, all bodyweight stuff, but I want to do more, weights too, but am concerned about recovery between sessions.

What can I do that's legit and recovers the body faster besides time? I've heard infrared saunas, ice baths, compression clothing, selfmyofascial release...

What works well? Thx

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards
ive always found that cardio late night helps me, but i also use a variety of eaa's/bcaa's/free form aminos

Krampus

Krampus

Awards
I know for a fact ice baths work but burrrrrrrr. Worst practices ever, but the ice bathes really do help.

napalm

napalm

Awards
prowler pushes/pulls are a good way to get in some extra work and help with recovery...

carpee

carpee

Awards
  • Established
keep your diet in check and as mentioned include aminos

asooneyeonig

asooneyeonig

Awards
light weight high rep, basically, active recovery workouts.

67nova

Awards
Can you point me in the direction of how to do them correctly?
What i did was went to local farm store(tractor supply) and got a live stock waterer(big steel tub)fill with 1/4-1/2water got a freezer and stock up with ice(4-6bags/10lb)get it around 50degrees or lower(55is alright)grap something to read(takes your mind off of cold)and sit in it for 10min.Wait 30-45 min and get a "warm"shower.DO NOT STRECTH AFTER GETTING OUT!!!Your snap like a twig.

Thats Justice

Awards
Nutrition pre and post, light cardio after wo to flush lactic acid from your body, stretch, and sleep

pyrobatt

pyrobatt

Awards
  • RockStar
  • RockStar
  • Established