What's wrong with training chest and back together?!

handzilla

Awards
  • Established
I've been supersetting chest and back heavy for a few months now. Some guy at the gym told me I should never do chest and back together. Are you kidding me? What's wrong with doing chest and back together?!

Dwight Schrute

Dwight Schrute

I am faster than 80% of all snakes
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
There is nothing wrong with it, but its more a personal preference to me to keep large musle groups seperate. If I do 2 large muscle groups together, I tend to tire out and not perform as well.

sage

sage

Awards
  • Established
Nothing. Reason why you see more people staying away from a chest/back day is in the fact both groups are considered large and thought to be worked better with isolation. If you can give enough intensity and volume to both muscle groups, there is no reason not to. I tend not to hit biceps and triceps together however b/c the pump i get in the biceps does not allow for a full extention of the tris. (Hitting the tricep before would combat this somewhat) but getting back to your orginal question... no problems with back and chest on the same day.
Sage

handzilla

Awards
  • Established
There is nothing wrong with it, but its more a personal preference to me to keep large musle groups seperate. If I do 2 large muscle groups together, I tend to tire out and not perform as well.
Thanks. I agree with the personal preference thing. I have no problems banging out an hour an a half of supersets for chest and back. I include stiff legged deadlifts in the routine as well and I feel good after I finish.

Dwight Schrute

Dwight Schrute

I am faster than 80% of all snakes
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
The problem with such long sessions is elevated cortisol really starts to become a factor 45 minutes into your workout and anything over an hour really starts to become counterproducitve. I would suggest some sort or carb/amino mixture if you go so long.

B5150