Giving fitness advice without appearing to be a pompous ass (not about this forum)

Type O Hero

Type O Hero

Banned
Awards
  • Established
First off I just want to say that this thread isn't about advice giving on this forum. I'm referring to giving fitness advice to someone in person. Moreover, someone who is out of shape.

So, probably like a lot of you, I'm one of the more fit guys in my area and especially around my circle of friends and their friends and their friends... So I get asked a lot of questions sometimes about how to get bigger or how to lose fat, ect..

I LOVE giving fitness advice (as long as I know that I know what I'm talking about haha)... My passions are music, first and foremost (I'm a musician, I'll post some of my music on this forum sometime, I'm pretty good ;) ) and fitness. So when someone asks me about working out or dieting, I just open up and later on realize that I talk too much. I'm sure a lot of you know exactly what I mean!

But the nuts of this thread is, how do you give advice without appearing to be an ass? There's no personal experience that comes to mind, I'm just curious... Because I've often wondered (in my own head) if the person I'm giving advice to ever thinks I'm arrogant because I'm in good shape and know what I'm talking about. I know this idea is inherently ridiculous, but surely it's happened to me and me not know it. Example: I'm trying to be informative and helpful but the way I'm talking or coming across is making them think, "Jeez dude, stop bragging." But bragging wouldn't be my intentions. I've always been humble about any talents I have (well, music and fitness are pretty much it lol) so I never want someone to think I'm being arrogant. Confidence is great, arrogance sucks.