Being a novice

k.crow

Awards
Hi! I am new in practicing gym. I want a balance between power and muscle mass. Could you recommend me a training program?

Smont

Smont

Legend
Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
The best training program is the one you can stick to, so make sure it looks interesting to you.

I have always thought the best approach for someone new is a simple full body workout 3x week. Focus on a couple compound lifts and get as strong as you can on them.

My first training program was
Bench press
Lat pulldown
Squat
Shoulder press
Deadlift
I did 1 or 2 warm up sets and then 3 sets of 6 on each exercise, if I had extra time I threw in barbell curls and cable pressdowns at the end.

I did this every Monday, Wednesday, Friday for about 4 months before switching to a push pull legs routine and I gained about 20 lbs and got much stronger in that period of time. Keep in mind I was younger back then and eating pretty much non stop.

You can pick any routine you want but keep it simple and pick one that focus on only a few main exercises. You can't get good at 20+ exercises at the same time, but you can get really good at a handful.

Look up "starting strength" and "5x5" or just Google "beginners full body training program"

You could also look into John Meadows programs but pick the beginners one. I think it's called baby groot

Smont

Smont

Legend
Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
Muscles grow in response to training, so make sure that you're not neglecting strength-training exercises. Strength training is done with heavyweight and low reps to cause the maximal release of certain hormones within the body related to muscle repair and growth.