Creatine

MARK_

MARK_

Awards
Is there a good, better or best way to take creatine? (Example: added to protein drink, just water....) Also, is there a suggested loading amount and time frame before a daily maintenance dosage begins. I am fairly new to all this stuff and am looking for some guidance. I currently add 5 grams of Creatine and 5 grams of Glutamine to my protein drink. One drink immediately following workout. One drink before bed. Any help or suggestions would be excellent.

LeanEngineer

LeanEngineer

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
I think that is about the right doseage that i would recommend. The max you should take a day is 20g. However i find just taking 5 to 10 grams daily will benefit you the post. If you have creatine monohydrate i would just mix it in with your protein shake post workout.

MARK_

MARK_

Awards
I think that is about the right doseage that i would recommend. The max you should take a day is 20g. However i find just taking 5 to 10 grams daily will benefit you the post. If you have creatine monohydrate i would just mix it in with your protein shake post workout.
Thanks for your recommendation.

bolt10

bolt10

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Once saturated you would be fine to only take 3-5g on training days.

Timing shouldn't really matter, so just whenever is convenient (since I take it on training days only it usually gets mixed in with other stuff I take that day).

Loading also shouldn't really matter. It just gets you to fully saturated levels faster. You could stick with your current dosing then after a month just cut back to 3-5g only on training days.

Hope that helps. :)

kbayne

kbayne

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Like bolt said, you only need 3-5 grams. There is no need to go above 5 grams per day.

NurseGray

NurseGray

Awards
Defiantly just 5 grams. You can mix it in anything but most of the time I just down it with water

mountainman33