I really need some insights here...

juandelabarra

Awards
So I've been having problems after deadlifting. I seem to have some problem in the glute medius or some area around it. For lack of better terms I have put in a picture of my friend Tony who has the same issue.

The pain in the highlighted area feels more like tension/stifness and its worse when sitting and bending forward at the hip. To give another idea if a do a deep squat it hurts but it also feels like stretching a sore muscle.

Attachments

DotW

DotW

Awards
Have you changed anything about your deadlift, like increasing the weight or the number of sets or reps?

juandelabarra

Awards
I have video but no idea how to post it here. I was up to 315 singles but I was working my low back too much so I figured bad form. I then lowered the weight to 225 for sets of 5 while videotaping every time I deadlifted.

I almost sure (almost cause I'm a noob) that my form is good. Last week I took off a couple of days and It felt better but then I got to deadlift yesterday and here we go again. It's pissing me off!
Thanks for the reply btw.

juandelabarra

Awards
To really answer your question, on heavy deadlift day I go for triples or doubles. On light deadlift day I pull from a deficit but with about 60% of my 1RPM

RegisterJr

RegisterJr

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Post the video link but remove the .com

DotW

DotW

Awards
Without seeing your form, I'm gonna guess that you're either rounding your lower back or not fully resetting between reps.
When you go to lift, on every rep, you should be engaging your lats by attempting to bend the bar with your hands. That should force your lower back into the correct position. Keep in mind, that goes to sh*t if you don't take the half of a second to reset between each rep, if you're going heavy.

juandelabarra

Awards
I have to upload it to a website to put it here?