Time off and gains please read need help

liftallday123

Awards
  • Established
Hi so I put this thread in this section because I would want to get input from a pro. My name is Eric I was a amateur bodybuilder consistently bodybuilding and competing living the lifestyle for a consistent 4 years. My best physique I ever attained l was 220 pounds 7% body fat T 5 foot 8. Long story short met a girl who brought me down and was depressed and out of the gym and healthy lifestyle for 6 months. I'm currently 185 pounds lost almost all my gains. I'm ready to get back to where I was. Question is how fast is it possible to bounce back from such a time off. I was cycling before but this 6 month layback I touched no steroids so I do attend on doing a light cycle. It took me many years to get where I was before. Will muscle memory allow me to achieve my muscle back into where it was 6 months ago ? Thanks to anyone who answers me

liftallday123

Awards
  • Established
Anyone know how fast muscle memory plays part to get my gains back ?

smith_69

smith_69

Awards
Believe this will depend on several factors- muscle atrophy being one of the most important as well as motor neurons being able to stimulate the muscle. If atrophy is severe obviously the longer this will take. However within 3-4 weeks (if I remember correctly) new blood vessels are/should be created in place of older ones, so endurance training should trigger this. Also, motor movements will help to get your body on track.

As an example, tricep press down. Stay strict to form with min wgt and focus on the muscles being worked.

Hope this helps somewhat, but giving you a def answer like; it will take 19 days and 12 hours (lol) I cant say. But above should help as I said to get you back on track.

Gutterpump

Gutterpump

Banned
Awards
  • Established