Unanswered The long head misconception -

PHOTOSnFIBERS

Awards
  • First Up Vote
So a preface real fast. I started lifting at 12, spent a lot of my youth back in the 90s reading magazines and talking to gym rats for info. One thing i had always heard was, to target the long head of the tricep (or bicep), you have to stretch the muscle. Want to target your bicep peak? Sit on an incline bench, let your arms hang and do curls.

Same with triceps, overhead tricep extensions ect. Stretch that muscle and voila, but it didn't really mesh with what i felt while lifting, or results i saw. I've always had a great bicep peak but NEVER did stretched curls, in fact i've usually done the opposite as i was a pull up junky as a kid. Pull ups, concentration curls and lat pull downs, all things that DON'T stretch the biceps.

Enter my 30s where i completely screw up my neck. 2 bulges and a herniation, plus a pinched nerve. Nerve damage left my lower left pec completely numb, as well as my lef long tricep head. Yes the lateral and medial were fine, long head fully numb. That was a strange feeling indeed when flexing my arms. Ok enough of the life story.

Eventually, after 7 or 8 years some of the feeling started coming back in those muscles, and i started focusing on things that would specifically target my long head, and what i had always read wasn't working. It just wasn't engaging that slab of muscle. I've always known about the actual anatomy of our body so i started trying new things and that's when i was convinced a stretch just isn't enough.

For anybody who doesn't already know, the long heads cross two joints, the elbow and shoulder (even your quads have this setup too, knee/hip). So your bicep long head curls your lower arm up but also flexes your shoulder just like your front delts do. Long tricep head does the reverse, it extends the lower arm and aids rear delts and back to extend the shoulder (upper arm) backwards. Ok so far so good.