SLAP Tear Recovery, Supplement Help

JRadka

JRadka

Awards
Alright, so here's the deal: My name is Jeff and last week I had a shoulder surgery to repair to SLAP (Superior Labrum Anterior to Posterior) tears in my right shoulder, as well as having my biceps tendon cut and reattached to repair a tear. It was reattached at the Labrum, so full recovery is expected. Some things about me: I am a Fitness Coach/Athletic trainer, a Physical Therapy Student, and a CrossFit competitor. I am looking to make a full recovery in the least amount of time possible, and I believe supplementation can help to speed my recovery.

Now having both a professional and personal interest in physical therapy methods I have come up with an idea that surprisingly I haven't been able to find any previous research on. My idea is that in addition to full body movements I can perform with one arm, and my PT; I will continue to train as I normally would using only one side of the body. This has been shown to slow atrophy and even make marginal strength gains in the uninjured side through a principle known as Cross-Education. What I will be attempting to do is enhance the benefits of Cross-Education by forcing muscle contractions on the injured side at first through flexing and altering the position of my body to mimic the movement and contraction that would be produced by the exercise.