LET ME TELL YOU OF THE DAYS OF HIGH ADVENTURE!

Famine

Famine

Awards
Hello all:

I use to log religiously on another forum, but when that forum (and my workouts) went belly up, I stopped logging. That was about a year ago. I figure now is a good time to give it another whirl. I'm going to address a bunch of stuff in this initial post so I don't have to rehash it later. Read it or skip it; no worries either way. Disclaimer, I'm long winded...

Overview
I've been lifting iron since I was 15 years old. Unfortunately, I didn't learn crap about nutrition and lifting until my late 20s, and didn't do anything significant with that knowledge until my early 30s. I peaked when I was 38. Now I'm 40 and struggling to climb back up the slippery slope of the hill.

Evolution of Goals
As a teenager, my goal was to workout to reduce my allergies, and to NOT be the skinniest guy in school. For the most part, I failed. I graduated high school 6'2", 160 pounds.

In my early 20s, my goal was to workout to counter the amount of beer I drank, and impress the women with a slightly above average body. For the most part, I succeeded. By my late 20s, I weighed 185 and was fit.

In my 30's I started getting serious about lifting and nutrition. I gravitated toward power lifting because I wanted strength and size. By my mid 30s I weighed 205, and my bench, dead, and squat numbers were increasing steadily. Soon thereafter, everything started going downhill. Lifts were going down, body fat was going up, and my mood was pissy because of it. Blood work said my test levels were dropping...a lot, and age made my recovery time ridiculous. I got super focused, took a mild test booster, and broke all my records by the age of 38. ...and it's been down hill since then.

Now
In my 40s, I'm just going to fight for numbers and motivation every day.

Routines I've Done
3, 4, 5, and 6-day splits
Full body
Muscle groupings
Front to back
Bill Starr's 5x5
Doggcrapp Training
Layne Norton's Power/Hypertrophy