Cutting help desparately needed.

Maverick1964

Maverick1964

Awards
First, a thanks in advance to anyone who can give me guidance with cutting and NOT losing muscle. My background...I am the classic ectomorph...putting on muscle is extremely hard for me...in high school I wrestled at 105 with a walking around weight of about 110...at my same height today of 5'10"! About 15 years ago I started lifting hard core and before I stopped lifting 7 years ago I was at 175 lbs at about 10% body fat. Every time I tried to cut down from there, I lost little fat and ALOT of my muscle...I finally told myself that I will just have to live with the mid section fat...then I stopped lifting. Started back last June and have gained back prolly about 70% of my muscle mass...the problem is, in the 7 year lay off I have increased my body fat % to about 16-18% (best guess) with the majority being on my stomach and hips. I want to cut down starting in April, but desperately want to hang on to my muscle. In the past I would eat about 500 kcals under maintenance, eat 50-60% protein, 20% carbs, 20% fat...do treadmill walking and occasionally HIT. Where was I going wrong? I am 5'10 and 190 lbs now. How much weight should I look to lose a week?
Supplement wise I am looking at:
CEL M-Test
Thermogenesis (can't really tolerate stims)
supplement with additional KSM-66
Olympus Labs Tr1umph (using now too)

I am seriously giving thought to a low dose Ostarine cycle also. ( have done a few PH cycles in the past). I am 52 years old. I appreciate any thoughts.

john.patterson

john.patterson

Awards
  • Established
If you're an ectomorph, I wouldn't start dieting at such a large deficit. I would eat 200 calories under maintenance, or maybe only eat under maintenance 4-5 days per week. The slower you go, the more muscle you'll keep. Also, your macros seem a little skewed. Keeping protein high is beneficial, but you don't need 60% of calories from protein. Especially if you're an ectomorph.