Need help with my workout plan

tumetsi

Awards
Hey guys, I have been lifting consistently now for around 5 months. Before that I've done a lot of combat sports and some occasional lifting, but I'm really getting into it now. It would be awesome to hear what you people think of my current workout routine and give me some tips.

I am 183cm (6ft) tall and weight around 79kg(176lbs). My goal is to add alot of more muscle and getting stronger overall and I don't mind bulking or gaining mass while doing it since it's really hard for me to gain extra weight anyways. Main focus on legs at the moment.

my routine is:

MON: LEGS
BB heavy squats 5x4-6 (add 5kg when +6RM)
heavy leg press 5x 6-10
leg extensions 6-12
calves 5x20

TUES: BACK
Deadlift 5x4-6 (add 5kg when +6RM)
BB T-Bar row 4x 6-10
close grip pull-ups with extra weight 4x6-12 OR neutral grip bodyweight 5 x until fatigue
front pulldown 4x10
seated cable row 4x6-10
abs

WED: CHEST
Flat Dumbell press 5x4-8
Incline dumbell press 5x 6-10
1# Butterfly variation 4x 10
2# butterfly variation 4x 10
Cable iron cross 4x 10
calves 5x20

THURS:
rest

FRI:
ARMS
Bar bicep curls 3 x 6-10
DB bicep curls 3 x 6-10
Preacher curls 3 x 6-10
Rope tricep pushdowns 3 x 6-10
Triceps pushdown 3 x 6-10
Skull crushers 3 x 6-10
abs

SAT:
LEGS/SHOULDERS
BB Front squats 5x8-12
DB lunges 4x 8-12
BB/DB overhead press 4x6-10
BB rear delt row 4x 6-10
deltoid raise 3x8-12
calves 5x20

SUN: rest

+abs&calves around 3 times a week each. For abs I'm doing 4 exercises 3x15 each. Not doing BB presses at the moment since my shoulder hurts like a b**** if I try to go heavy on presses. Dumbell presses feel fine though.

every few months I'm away for the weekend so I skip the FRI & SAT workouts but I try to do LEGS / BACK / CHEST every single week no matter what's my schedule..

Any tips/improvements/advice much appreciated!

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
So you're gonna do DL's the day after heavy squats? ;-)