Is ok to take recomp20 on empty stomach?

john10960

Awards
Question is as title states.
Also wondering, ever since I started lifting, I always work out in morning without eating anything beforehand.
I’ve read back and forth that maybe this could be hindering progress. Is this true? Is it always better to eat somethjng before working out? If so would a protein drink suffice?

thanks!

sns8778

sns8778

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Best Answer
Yes, it is fine to take Recomp20 on an empty stomach. I do that a lot of times myself.

As to your question, you're going to get a lot of different opinions on that.

Personally, when my primary goal is fat loss, training in the morning on an empty stomach is ideal.

However, if my primary goal is performance or building muscle, then I would have some protein and carbs about an hour prior to training. For me that would be either oatmeal and a protein shake or HBCD (carb source) and a protein shake.

I am not a morning person and don't have time to train in the morning anymore, but when trying to lose fat, I do do cardio sessions in the morning on an empty stomach, but do my weight training at night. But I did used to do weights in the morning on a empty stomach when my primary goal was fat loss at the time.

I hope that helps.

john10960

Awards
Thanks for the reply.

so if I train on an empty stomach I can still make gains yes? (Well I have been and I’ve made gains) but I could be making faster gains if I get carbs /protein before hand? (When not aiming for cut)
If so would a simple cliff bar suffice? I don’t like eating before I train, but if I could make faster gains I will do it

***edit: also is there a supplement snack out there that gives all necessities for pre workout calorie macros? I currently don’t have time to make small meals prior

Last edited:
sns8778

sns8778

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Best Answer