Trying to gain weight.

Porky101

Porky101

Awards
I am new to this and hope I’m going about this the correct way and on the right topic.

I am a 44 yr old male at 160lbs. I was around 190-200lbs and then got hit with Covid or whatever and it took a toll on my appetite and digestive system and dropped me to 160ish. I’ve been supplementing calories with a mass gainer (Naked Mass - less sugar than other mass gainers which is easier on my gut). My calorie intake is around 2500.

Trying to get to around 175lbs. I use resistance bands at home 4x a week. I looked through some of the other threads and got some great ideas but thought maybe I should post my details. Any advice and or suggestions on how to increase my weight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

composner

Awards
Welcome! First set of questions: do you measure macronutrient intake? Do you have an accurate estimate of your basal metabolic rate? Are you looking to build muscle or just literally gain weight? What is your resistance band program like? Have you ever done weights/strength training at a gym? Do you do any cardio? Has your weight been changing at 2500kc?

I'm a good bit younger than you but I'd definitely be losing weight or barely maintaining at 2500/day. An easy 1st step would be to add a protein shake (30-40g whey protein, low sugar milk - fairlife is the best if you can get it and dairy agrees with you - fruit, peanut butter or something similar) each day and step up the intensity of whatever strength training you're doing so more of those calories go to building muscle rather than fat.

Glad you're here and wishing you good luck on your fitness journey!

Porky101

Porky101

Awards