Self-administered TRT, how can we make it safer?

Matthersby

Matthersby

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
We don’t need any hate, please. We know it’s always safer under a doctors care. I have, in the past, paid good money to 1 Urologist, 1 Endo, and oddly enough 1 Urgent Care PA, to be on HRT. 2 didn’t check clot factors, 1 didn’t check estrogen regularly, and 1 thought they could “taper up my natural levels” and take me off one day.

I made the decision to check these things on my own regularly through labs every 90 days, and spend a fraction of the money on good UGL Test. Actually annual cost for test and labs were around 2 months of Physician-monitored care.

I know there are dozens of guys on here that do the same thing. We don’t need any comments about how irresponsible we are. My labs are more scrutinized and analyzed now more than they ever have been. I’ve been an ER nurse, Combat Medic, Paramedic, and Dialysis Nurse, taken Pharmacology and Lab Analysis classes, can draw my own blood for labs and can even self donate to lower RBC’s when necessary.

I plan to get with our board sponsor, Entourage Medical at some point after I compete at 40, so I’m free to blast and cruise until then.

So, what do you guys look for when practicing “responsible” self administered TRT?

I currently check:

Hematocrit/hemoglobin RBCs
Platelets
LDL/HDL
Liver enzymes
Estrogen panel

Even A1C and Thyroid
Kidney function-which is always slightly off for most athletes-not to be concerned with if GFR is straight.

Not looking at labs right now but I think I’m covering the important long term stuff.

kenpoengineer

kenpoengineer

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Add SHBG to this:
IMG_3953.JPG

And another
IMG_5155.JPG

Matthersby

Matthersby

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
SHBG, yes totally forgot that one, comes with comprehensive hormone panel.

Toren

Toren

Awards
  • Established