Muay Thai and Losing Gains

Bmac63095

Bmac63095

Awards
AM,

im torn between 2 places. ive been training Muay Thai for a couple months now and at the beginning its hard to lift weights after becaese you legit cant do anything after a work out. your hands are numb, your body is weak like you have the flu and your legs are rubber. as expected, i lost some muscle but leaned up in the process. the only thing that maintained were some of my arm size and some of my size. i lost all quads and chest. good news is my puny calves grew because we are always moving and bouncing on them.. i was able to lift weights because there is a smal weight room next to where i train. when i move to this new Muay Thai gym, there are no weights. its strictly Muay thai and if afraid im going to lose everything that ive worked for. any thoughts on how to at least keep some STRENGTH/POWER while i train or im a screwed? do i have t chose between MT or weights? maybe every other day go back to my old gym and lift and cycle in and out of MT and the Gym? anyone else have the same issue when they are training something other than strictly for strength/hypertrophy?

Whisky

Whisky

Awards
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Best Answer
Hey bro, I claim to know nothing about Muay Thai but I’ve definitely experienced issues gaining/keeping size whilst doing too much HIIT training.

IMO the starting point is making sure that you are taking in enough calories. I’m guessing the Muay Thai training is probably burning through quite a lot. If you ensure that your not in a calorie deficit it’s much less likely you’ll lose lean mass.

I’ve read various studies that show maintenance of existing muscle doesn’t actually require that much. One showed that one session a week was actually sufficient to avoid any significant losses - therefore I’d try to make the effort to do one full body routine once a week at another gym.