I think I've been training wrong for 3+ years...

elgenyo

elgenyo

Awards
  • Established
Don't get me wrong, I've made huge gains both physically and mentally over the last 3 years of training. Until recently, it has been primarily to obtain a healthier way of life. I've been bitten by the bodybuilding bug and am aiming to compete for the first time in May 2011. To date, my workout routine has always been based off of whatever I've read in magazines and has progressed to what I've found on forums like AM. I've put on a considerable amount of muscle and have lost a respectable amount of body fat. When researching bodybuilders history I have found that some of the best started out strength training first to build a solid base then progressed to traditional bodybuilding. I have been researching Strong Lifts 5x5 which is similar to Madcow program. This takes me from a 5 day split where each day worked a single muscle group using 4 exercises with about 3-4 sets 8-12 reps to a 3 day split consisting of only compound exercises rotating so each exercise is done twice every 7 days. I'm looking to start over and train for strength until I can squat/deadlift/benchpress 1.5xbodyweight which currently is 180. What are your opinions on this?

elgenyo

elgenyo

Awards
  • Established
So my goal at my present weight would be

Squat/Bench/Dead 270lb 5x5

I'm not far from that on Dead/Squat but my Bench is where I have room for improvement. I'm working past a phobia of barbells created when my shoulder popped out of socket leaving me pinned under the bar when I first started weight lifting. Ever since then I used dumbells. I don't have a partner so benching max solo is a tricky business without using the smith machine.

SRS2000

Awards
  • Established