Help to overcome shoulder issues

Gator762

Awards
I'm 42, and have injured both shoulders years ago. Torn rotator cuff in one, and multiple dislocations and corrective surgery in the other. Even had dislocations after the surgery as well. Pretty depressing as I have lost 30-35 lbs of muscle since.

3 months back I had another injury, doctor diagnosed it as the labrum. I seem to be weak in that area as I injured the labrum in both shoulders. I have been doing the prescribed therapy exercises for 3 months now and have built up strength and stability a lot, and my doctor seemed to think that I should be darn near 100% now. I always stretch before and ice after as prescribed.

Starting with weights left me pretty sore. Bench press with light weight, 15 reps or so left me sore for days with the dislocated shoulder. Bent over cable rows for reps of 30 had me sore for a day with the cuff injured shoulder. I think I'll try dropping weight with the bench press for reps of 30.

Any recommendations to help get me back on track? I'm also taking Super Cissus and Glucosamine & Chondroitin to help.

ETA - I've cleaned up my diet, and over the past 6 months or so lost about 3" off the waist. Goal is overall fitness, and to gain some strength back. Lifting heavy (low reps) is out for a long time, but I'd like to be doing real strength training this year.

Last edited:
threeFs

threeFs

Awards
For me, straight bars aggravated my clavicle/shoulder joint. After switching to dB's the free movement has allowed me to continue with presses. Straight bars tend to make you over internally rotate the shoulder because of the fixed position. Good luck, hope this helps you.

kisaj

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
DBs are exactly what I was going to post. My friend who is a PT always recommends this instead of any BB work with lifts after an injury.

threeFs

threeFs

Awards