Deadlift form check

Lifting_Dad

Lifting_Dad

Awards
The form is not great. My hips are the first to shoot up. I'm still very new to the powerlifting game, been around lifting for quite awhile.
As reference, I am the artist formerly known as bnatural.
[video=youtube;sc9M-xOOQwI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sc9M-xOOQwI[/video]

Contemplating moving to sumo, this is conventional.

PaulBlack

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
It did not look terrible but, yeah the hips move a bit first, which can put the hips farther away or back some from the bar which can also hinder lockout.
If you keep the hips down and the bar moves first, you drive the heels into floor, drive hips forward while driving the shoulders up and back in all one fluid motion.
Hard to tell from that angle how close you are to the bar, or where the bar is in relation to your shoes. The closer ones gets to the bar, without hindering at the start, the better you stay to the center of the body's gravity and better leverages.
If the hips come up, it can have you rounding the back or not staying super tight, which also makes lockout tougher.
Your head could be a bit more neutral perhaps. Looking out at the floor about 10' or 15' in front of you.

IMO, drill lighter weights cementing the form in (not so light that you are not working hard sets of x5's can work fine) and practicing the proper step by step execution from breaking the weight off the floor to lockout, whilst getting the reps/work in.
Overtime your entire pos chain will strengthen as you slowly move into heavier and heavier weights.

As far as sumo!? You can certainly do both for a bit and see which one is best. Usually sumo, is more advantageous for longer waisted, perhaps shorter legged guys, since the lever from the shoulders to hip hinge is longer, so pulling in a more upright position, makes that lever shorter or easier to manage.

Lifting_Dad

Lifting_Dad

Awards