Chest training

N

Nathan1722

Awards
I've been lifting for about 8 months now and am seeing great results. I used to follow a friends workout schedule but I ended up over training I'd do chest twice a week and do 5 sets of every exercise. 6-10 reps We would do incline bench, flat bench, wide grip bench, decline bench, peck deck, and dips I stopped doing this about 4 months ago. I now do 3-4 sets of 6-12 reps and my routine is incline DB bench, flat bench, upper and lower cable cross overs, dips and if I feel like it I'll burn out with push ups or peck deck I still do chest twice a week I'm jw if this is a good routine for chest. Thankyou for your replies

mickc1965

mickc1965

Awards
  • Established
Depends on what you are doing for all other muscle groups really, pecs in relation to your back or legs are a tiny muscle group.

LeanEngineer

LeanEngineer

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
For chest I will usually do 3-4 push exercises followed by 3-4 fly exercises. For example, flat bench, incline db bench, decline barbell bench, flat db fly, standing cable fly, incline and decline fly.

RegisterJr

RegisterJr

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
How do you know you were overtraining?

N

Nathan1722

Awards
I know I was over training because I started to get weaker I ended up not even being able to bench a plate idk how plus I was getting headaches every night I feel a lot better doing this now and I'm way stronger than before

N

Nathan1722

Awards
Today is my chest and tri day maybe I'll add a couple exercises thankyou

Snow3y

Snow3y

Awards
Are you noticing improvement doing your routine? If so, then stick with it.. If you hit a plateau you'll need to increase your volume (amount of reps/sets - basically the amount of weight lifted in the session)

R1balla

R1balla

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established