REVERSE PYRMAMID Training?

Masster

Awards
I have been doing regular pyramid training for quite a few months now and have hit a roadblock. Would switching to reverse pyramids be enough of a shock to the system to spur growth again?

Maverick60

Awards
  • Established
Id imagine switching to anything for a while would help.

futurepilot

Awards
  • Established
Try using the same weight. That seems to help me. Doing more sets with a medium weight.

A reverse pyramid isnt a bad idea. Just be careful, if your not warmed up, doing your max first might strain something

SilentBob187

SilentBob187

Awards
  • Established
Drop sets are a good way to change everything up. Like futurepilot said, make sure you do at least 1 or 2 warmup sets.

For example, on Incline DB press I do 20s and 40s for warmup then start with 85s and work down to 60s.

Masster

Awards
Drop sets are a good way to change everything up. Like futurepilot said, make sure you do at least 1 or 2 warmup sets.

For example, on Incline DB press I do 20s and 40s for warmup then start with 85s and work down to 60s.
That's pretty much what I just started doing last workout for chest. Started with incline bb and after warmup did 8x225, 10x205, 12x185, and 15@165. Did the same for the rest of my chest workout. Felt great doing the heavy weight while I was still fresh. Usually only able to do 3-4 @225 and was nice to put up 8 to start it off.

JDF

Awards
  • Established
Change up your split if you want to see growth again

If your doing 3x a week TTB then switch it up to possibly 5x a week concentrating on a single BP

Masster

Awards
Change up your split if you want to see growth again

If your doing 3x a week TTB then switch it up to possibly 5x a week concentrating on a single BP
doing 4-5 right now depending on schedule. Few months back went to 6/a week hitting everything 2/week and that was working out great but didn't work out too well with family life.

JDF

Awards
  • Established