Starting out Properly

newlifter

Awards
Hi all,

I know this forum isn't usually a place where beginners post for advice, but AM seems to have the most knowledgeable and honest guys out there, so here goes. I'm 21, and I started lifting with a real commitment about two months ago. I've always been on the thin side - not too thin, but not big enough for my liking. I've read up a lot on the subject of weight training, so I think I've got a decent routine down. It's working well so far, at least; in two months I've lost about 4 pounds of fat and put on 6 pounds of muscle.

Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday are lift days. On Tuesday and Thursday, I go to the gym in the evening, and on Saturday, early in the morning. I do the same workout each time:

Free squats
lying leg curls
seated calf raises
seated row
hyperextensions
incline bench press
tricep pressdowns
bicep curls
military press
shrugs
reverse curls

I pretty much do 3 sets of 8 for each exercise. My weights have been going up slowly and steadily, except for my incline bench, which has definitely exceeded my expectations.

I run on Monday and Wednesday mornings for about five miles, and then do abs when I'm done. I cannot give up running, I'm addicted to it.

My diet, I think, is pretty clean for a beginner. I eat oatmeal for breakfast, a protein shake for a mid-morning snack, a sandwich on whole wheat for lunch, some tuna for an afternoon snack, a post-workout protein shake, and then chicken and broccoli for dinner. It's hard for me to put on weight, but it's even harder to force myself to eat tons of food, so I'm proud that I'm even eating as much as I am. Sunday is the day I ease up on the meals, but I'm still reasonable. Oh, and the protein shakes are prolab lean mass matrix, which from what I've read are decent MRPs. They've got 400 calories and 40 grams of protein, and it's all good stuff like oats, no malto nastiness.