Chest Workout Making Shoulders Bigger

Two Bulls

Two Bulls

Awards
I've been working out since about 2006 now and my chest is nowhere near the size I feel it should be. I recently read that some people's shoulders grow more from chest workouts than the chest does. I feel like I might fall in this category. I've made massive gains everywhere else in my body over the years but the chest seems to have fallen behind. Anyone else have this issue? If so what changes have you made?

Gerbil

Gerbil

Awards
  • Established
What is your chest workout? Tried weighted dips yet?

Jiigzz

Jiigzz

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • First Up Vote
Are you benching properly? Massive issue with people is that they let their anterior deltiod do all the work in a bench press which reduces the amount of work your chest will perform

http://articles.elitefts.com/features/so-you-think-you-can-bench-get-the-whole-series-here/

Hence why many people have overly developed anterior deltoids and underdeveloped chests. Get your technique in check, hit your chest hard with compounds and isolations (preferably in that order) and watch it grow.

Oh and eat and sleep heaps :)

retrofitted

Awards
I've had the opposite effect...no shoulder development, decent chest size. But definitely agree with the poster above...make sure your bench technique is spot-on. And from what I understand, the bench press won't put size on in the same manner that isolation exercises might. Second on the weighted dips.

Two Bulls

Two Bulls

Awards
What is your chest workout? Tried weighted dips yet?