Time off from the gym

Young Gotti

Young Gotti

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
I've been training for about 3 years now and usually go three months, take 4 days off and get back at it, recently i'm on about 9 months straight without more than 2 days off in a row...i've been wanting to take some time off as i've been feeling sore alitte longer, bcaa's has really helped but even on days when i feel like my workout wasn't ground breaking, i'm sore for a few days, for example chest on monday and i'm still sore on thursday,

my question is how long off is to long? i didn't train sunday because saturday was my buddy's b-day and it was a long night, monday i spent the whole day in the city and got back late, and then even though i was dead tired i slept for like 3 hours last night, so i'm thinking now is about time to take the time off....so today would be day 3...i was thinking 5 or 6 days?

usually after the 4 days off i feel refreshed and ready to get back at it...but this is longer than i usually wait

Harry Manback

Harry Manback

Awards
  • Established
Take a few more days off. Properly carb load and hit it hard when you get back. I took a week straight off in January doing just this, also made a mental game plan and was worth the re-coop. I know you get edgy and want to lift because we're trained in this manner to go frequently but this now is training of your mind, a valuable lesson of patience, which will be rewarded with the healing of your body, mind and soul. Enjoy the free time. I got alot of laundry done in those days off. Think of what you could accomplish?

DeFos3

DeFos3

Awards