Overtraining... ok then. What now?

NerdFlexd

NerdFlexd

Awards
Ok so apparently im over training, 6 days a week is a little do much ive been told(monday chest/bi, tuesday back/abs, wednesday shoulders/tris, then repeat 3 rotation cycle).

What now, i dont have much of an idea on what a good workout and schedule would be. Can you guys gimme some suggestions? or even make me a workout and schedule completely if youd be so kind?

Height: 6'0"
Weight:170lbs
BF:8.5%

Im still new at this whole thing and i could really use some help.

Also, what are some good ways to bulk up on good calories, i dont want to go with some bulk powder thats totally carbs, but any ideas on foods or other ways to get extra calories would be great cause i need something like 5,000 a day and im not getting close.

edwardyi

edwardyi

Awards
you're missing a leg workout!

if i were you, i'd probably do:
day 1: chest,tri,abs
day 2: back, bi
day 3: shoulders, traps
day 4: legs, calves
day 5: rest
repeat or have more rest days in between day 1 - day 4 if you feel like you are exhausted.

Marine77

Marine77

Awards
I'm right there with you. I was just about to start a thread about over-training and you had beat me to it. I am quite a bit older than you at 31 but have the same build, 6' and 170 lbs. I work out five days a week and I'm not seeing the gains I want. I will definately be following this thread.

suncloud

suncloud

Awards
  • Established
arms get a light workout from doing chest and back. since you don't want to train your legs (if i remember correctly) try

m - back / abs
t - chest / shoulders
w - arms
th - back / abs
f - chest / shoulders

no matter how much you want to gain weight, it'll be a nightmare without working legs directly though. no squats, no deadlifts = no mass, period. bench only releases 8% more free flowing testosterone to your system, vs the 20% you'll get from squats. its your call though. if you do decide to do legs - my workout is:

M - legs / back