Low test levels

thelonely1

Awards
If this is in the wrong category, mods please move it.

This is my first post, so hi everybody!

About me: I am 28 yo, 5'11", 170 lbs at approx. 10-12% bodyfat. I have been training for about 4 months now.

I went to the Dr. complaining of feeling depressed, low libido, no desire, etc. and we did some blood tests and this is the results.

Component, Value, Range,
Testosterone, total 233(*) - (ng/dL)
% Free Testosterone 1.10 (*) - (%)
Free Testosterone 25.7 (*) - (pg/mL)

His comments were: Mildly low testosterone. We could try a testosterone injection to see if it helps with your depression. I can't guarantee it will work.

So, my questions are:

1. How low are my levels really? I don't know what those numbers mean?
2. How effective would taking testosterone injections be for fixing my depression, low libido, etc?
3. What might the side effects be?

I have no idea what the dose may be.

Also on the test were these numbers:

Component, Value, Range,
TSH 1.12 0.40-4.00 (uIU/mL)
Free T4 0.8 0.5-1.6 (ng/dL)

These numbers also look to be low. Anybody know what they are?

dg806

dg806

Enologist/Brewmaster/Damn good guy
Awards
  • Established
Yes, your test level is low for your age. Doctors will only give you enough to raise your level up to where the average for your age will be. I imagine it would help libido and depression quite a bit though.

thelonely1

Awards
Yes, your test level is low for your age. Doctors will only give you enough to raise your level up to where the average for your age will be. I imagine it would help libido and depression quite a bit though.
What should my test levels be at then? How much and how long would I have to take to be in the normal range? I'm NOT trying to weasel this into a cycle or anything stupid. I just want to be normal.

ace7863

Awards
Test level ranges are 241-871 but can vary slightly by a few points depending on the lab or endo.