Alcohol

Page 1 of 5 123 ... Last
  1. Alcohol

Has anyone here had huge alcohol problems in the past but are now better? I have a problem with alcohol and I need to stop.

2. Quote Originally Posted by Delboss731 View Post
    Has anyone here had huge alcohol problems in the past but are now better? I have a problem with alcohol and I need to stop.
    Not alcohol problems, but meth problems.. was addicted for about 5 years.. been clean about 20months now. I'm no expert on addiction or drinking, but cognitive behavioral therapy style recovery programs helped me the most. That and finally going to treatment in a place that allowed me to become more integrated back into the community as well as supportive housing after treatment.. got a job and made myself find something social I used to like to do like playing magic the gathering or dnd with nerd friends one day a week.. also hitting the gym with consistency.. once you rebuild a new structure in your daily life it gets easier and easier.. also being around people who don't do what you are trying to stop doing kinda rubs off on you.. I know with drinking there are some medications you could consider taking like antabuse or campral.. they say antabuse is dangerous because it makes you fairly sick when you drink while on it, but in most cases it's not life threatening and honestly it's the closest thing to how the principles of behavior modification outline to reduce the frequency of a given behavior because the consequence immediately follows the behavior you want to change.. the other option is to continue until you lose everything and wake up in a jail.. typically that's the same idea, but is much worse than just getting ill as a consequence.. both are in ways an aversion type conditioning..
    •   

3. Just stop. Easier said then done. You can do it

4. What kind of problem? Drinking too often, during the day, at work, etc? Or more like binge drinking?

5. Quote Originally Posted by artb View Post