Comments please on my beginners training schedule

Stretchio

Awards
Hi Guys - What do you think of my schedule. To note I am just beginning weight training properly at age 34. I am in good physical fitness and eat a very clean diet.

I am doing two workouts. With 1 or 2 rest days in-between depending on my work schedule. I am not strong enough to do pull ups or dips at the moment so please do not add these! They are for phase 2!

Workout 1 =

Super set - Dumbell Deadlift / Dumbell Row
Super set - Lat pull down / Single leg dumbbell deadliest (both sides)
Super set - Bicep curl dumbell / Body weight squats to failure.
Plank to failure

Workout 2 =
Super set - Dumbell Squat / Dumbell bench press
Superset - Dumbell shoulder press / Tricep extension
Crunches

I generally do 3 sets x 10-12 reps but sometimes mix it up with higher reps / low weight, higher weight / lower reps.

Any comments graciously received as I am enjoying the science and research behind formulating a good starter workout.

Plan is do do the above for 2 months before mixing it up.

nicksox15

nicksox15

Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar
How many days are you able to commit to training a week? I would stick to a proven plan, especially when you're starting off. As stated above, starting strength is a good one, and there are lots of proven programs out there. If you can't do pullups or dips, and the split calls for it you can sub out for a different exercise.

Driven2lift

Driven2lift

AnabolicMinds Site Rep
Awards
OP appears to be working out at home with just dumbbells available.

In regards to your superset pairings I like to use opposing muscle groups within each pair, or a push and a pull.

Just be sure you are progressing, track progress and bump up the weight as you go.

Invest in a simple bar and plates when you can, but I got pretty far myself with just dumbbells, a bench, and a doorway pull-up bar when I started out.

Driven2lift

Driven2lift

AnabolicMinds Site Rep
Awards