Why I Think RIR Training Sucks

I am sure more than a few of you are already worked up after reading the title, and you can not wait to get to the comment section. Slow down, take a deep breath, and try to read the entire article before you get yourself bothered. Then, you can let me have it.

I will state the obvious and go on record by saying that I do not believe stopping a set before you can get as many reps as possible is the best approach if maximum hypertrophy is your goal. That being said, there are a couple of exceptions, and I will get to those in a few minutes. Right now, I need to back up my opinion by expounding.

Reps in Reserve
If you do not know what RIR training is, it is leaving "reps in reserve" or stopping a set before you have reached the maximum number of reps you could get if you went to failure or to the point where you know you could not possibly have gotten one more rep. Most people believe they go to failure or are very close, but I have been a coach in the bodybuilding industry for over 20 years and trained for 40 years. I can tell you that a very small percentage of people in the vast majority of gyms train to failure. In short, most people do not train nearly as hard as they think they do. Even more need to train harder to grow optimally and consistently.

The main reason I am not a fan of RIR training is because measuring reps in reserve is a huge grey area. If I have trained for 40 years and do not know how many more reps I can get before failing, I have no idea how a newbie could figure this out. I have gotten three more reps than I thought I would (with great form because I am a form guy), and I have failed four or more reps before I thought I would. I go into working sets with the mindset that I will get as many reps as I can with good form, and the set stops when I either fail or there is no possible way to get another rep because I barely was able to finish the last rep.

The Only Exceptions