On Cycle Training Split & Diet

Joedub86

Awards
  • Best Answer
Hey, guys. I’m about to start my first cycle. I’ve been lifting for almost 17 years and tried pretty much every split and lifting routine possible. My goal is strictly bulking. I’m currently doing push, pull, legs 4 days a week and hitting each muscle group every 5 days. I’m thinking about switching it up to chest/tri, back/bi, shoulders, legs, then repeat for 6 days a week with 1 day off. The only reason I want to add a shoulder only day is to focus more on my shoulders because I feel they don’t get adequately hit on push days. Does this seem like a good plan, or should I switch to something like a push, pull, legs 6 days a week? Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

jrock645

Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • RockStar
Try to hit each muscle group a minimum of twice a week.

booneman77

booneman77

Legend
Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • Best Answer
The easiest question is: what has worked for you well in the past? That's a good starting point.

Next I would say: what do you enjoy - can be volume driven, intensity driven, a certain split, equipment, etc? (so you'll stick with it for awhile)

Lastly, more of a comment, for strictly bulking, you'll probably want more rest vs a 6 day plan. Unless you're on something, it will be hard to recover between workouts unless they're VERY low volume

Joedub86

Awards
  • Best Answer
Thanks for the advice. I will be on a cycle and have heard you can handle more volume with less rest. I’ve been wanting to hit shoulders more since I feel they don’t get hit hard enough on Push days. So, I think I’ll be doing 4 days, Chest/tris, Back/Bis, Shoulders, Legs, then repeat on the 5th and 6th day (i.e. Chest/tris again, Back/Bis again, etc) and take 1 day off for a total of 6 days a week.

booneman77

booneman77

Legend
Awards
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • Best Answer