Taking a back from strength training...looking for new program

JoeySon

JoeySon

Banned
Awards
Taking a break from strength training...looking for new program

Hey guys so I've been doing strength training now for about four months now and I've decided to take a little break. Will be returning to strength in 6 weeks or so by giving 5/3/1 a try for the first time.

So basically I was looking for a 6 week program or just some general thoughts on a higher volume program (endurance based) to run here for a little while. Also wouldnt hurt if I could have some accessory training to aide when I return to my big lifts.

Was thinking of HST, GVT, or maybe just creating my own. Just looking for some opinions

Gracias Senors!

schroedes

schroedes

Awards
Check out HIML-4, muscle and strength.com, i enjoyed it

JoeySon

JoeySon

Banned
Awards
Check out HIML-4, muscle and strength.com, i enjoyed it
That might work cause I could run my 5x5 right into it as the first week

ZiR RED

ZiR RED

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
Why not focus on GPP work. I like to prescribe a unilateral movement phase of about 3-4 weeks prior to starting any high load program, or on myself at least once per year. The load and overall compression and neural component is less, but the muscular demand and need for core stabilization is high. It allows you to do a lot of volume in a session/microcycle without excessively taxing the CNS. At the same time, you build symmetry of muscular strength, work out muscular imbalances, and should at the end see an improvement in movement and all around in the way you feel.

BR

JoeySon

JoeySon

Banned
Awards