Cardio while bulking

dillianc

Awards
Hey guys,

Just wondering when you are in a bulk stage, do You do cardio? If so, what kind, how often and how long?

Reds91

Reds91

Awards
I do. I usually do about 10 mins. pre workout. Usually just go for a jog.

smatters

smatters

Awards
Ridding Fat vs. Bulking

Hey there,

Here's a quote I read today. Interesting enough it might help you with some idea, however, there may be others on here who might disagree. I am neither agreeing nor disagreeing as i am not a legitimate professional who can answer assuredly. In any case, here's the quote:

First of all, it is practically impossible to build muscle mass and get rid of the fat the same time. When you build your muscle mass, you inevitably get a little of extra fat, otherwise you would not have enough food or recovery time for muscle growth. When you exercise to lose your fat, your diet and exercises prevent muscle growth. Bodybuilders build muscle (and some fat :) during their off-season, and rip their bodies during their on-season.

To lose fat, you need some sort of a calorie reduced healthy diet and a lot of aerobic exercise.

There are 2 types of exercise - aerobic and anaerobic. Anaerobic exercise is a very intensive exercise, that you can do only for a short time. It uses oxygen faster than your body can replenish. This is the type of exercise that is used in weight training. Another example - fast sprinting.

To burn your fat, you need aerobic exercise - prolonged, low or moderate intensity work, like 30 minutes of jogging. You need oxygen to burn your fat. Doing 20 reps of bench press is not an aerobic exercise, it is still anaerobic, but a pretty inefficient one for muscle building because of low intensity.