Suggestions on how to improve chins/pulls

Vitamin J

Awards
Hey bro's I am new here so first of all a big howdy to one an all. I am a newbie at the weight training game, currently cutting, and am having a problem performing the body weight exercises mentioned above. What would you guys suggest to help improve my perfomance in these areas? As a newbie I cannot do one pull up/chin up and usually opt for the lat pull down machine. Would a suggestion be to stick with the lat pull down for a set or two and do once practice set of chin/pulls each time and then when I can do chins/pulls knock out the lat pull down? Thanks bro's and I look forward to my time learning with all of you.

stryder

stryder

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
If you have a partner have him assist you while you're doing the pull-ups by holding your feet. I learned this way also. Some gyms have the weight assisted pull-up machine. The more weight you put on the stack the less bodyweight you pull. As you become more proficient decrease the weight until you're pulling 100% on your own. If you don't have access to any of the aforementioned then alternate with the lat-pulldowns and the pull-ups. Even if you can't do one rep, go as high as you can and hold it for as long as you can, then repeat.

jminis

jminis

Awards
  • Established
If you have a partner have him assist you while you're doing the pull-ups by holding your feet. I learned this way also. Some gyms have the weight assisted pull-up machine. The more weight you put on the stack the less bodyweight you pull. As you become more proficient decrease the weight until you're pulling 100% on your own. If you don't have access to any of the aforementioned then alternate with the lat-pulldowns and the pull-ups. Even if you can't do one rep, go as high as you can and hold it for as long as you can, then repeat.
I agree and couldn't of said it any better, either train with a partner that can assist you or use the weight assisted pull up machine.