Am I doing the right thing?

MCLee2

Awards
Hi everyone,
Im new to the forum. Looking for some advice on training and weightloss.

I have been working out for a few years, but not seriously. I have neglected my legs and have beginner strength for them.

After doing some research I thought that the best program for me was Starting Strength. I have been doing that for the last month and I like the strength gains I am seeing, but I am worried about my bodyfat. I am currently around 21% using the military's tape measure method.

Everything I have read so far says that starting strength should be done on a bulking diet. I really dont want my bodyfat to get any higher than it is right now, and over the last few weeks it has gone up slightly.

I guess right now I am more concerned with getting rid of the fat until I am below 15% bodyfat and then focusing on gaining strength.

Should I stay on SS and just tweak my diet and cardio?

Or is there a different routine I should do?

Any advice on what I should do to help me get to 15% bf would be greatly appreciated!

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • Established
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
really just diet control can get you there. Its trying to get below 10% where you have to really worry about what exactly you are doing workout + cardio wise. 15% is still just "normal" bodyfat level

BigKrabbe

BigKrabbe

Awards
  • Established
I am in the military too man. The tape test is the most outrageous way of guessing bf. Start working out your neck man! Get that bad boy to a 18 inch neck and you will always be ok.

MCLee2

Awards
So do you suggest I stay on Starting Strength while cutting calories and increasing cardio?

Or is there a different type of routine that would be better to use for the next few months while I am cutting down to around 15% bf?