Hi novice in need of some wisdom

Megalo

Megalo

Awards
Hi guys from New york I'm new to the forum and it looks nice , I've been working out for about 8 or 9 months and ive only been able to gain about 10 or 13 pounds. I haven't changed since then I've taken the holiday week off the gym to try to figure out a new routine and breakthrough a plateau I have in mass which is around 160 pounds. Though my strength was building, it was way to slow. I was hoping someone could drop some knowledge onto me for some sort of new routine that will help me build mainly strength, with mass on the side. I'm guessing my initial gains were only newbie gains and I'm only 17 years old btw about 5'11. So i've been all over the internet looking at different workouts and different opinions from different people with different results, but I can't seem to find one thats right for me so I found this site after a few google searches and just decided to ask for help myself. Thanks for any info you guys can give.

JThaR3ason

Awards
to gain mass there is more to it than just the lifting aspect, you need to up the caloric intake. What does your diet consist of? What is your current split?

Megalo

Megalo

Awards
Thanks for the reply
My diet is pretty much eating anything and everything and more so things with protein and lots of water , i try to make sure to have 160grams of protein a day or more but since whey is expensive I try to get most of it through food everyday. I'm more mesomorphic in nature so i don't worry about fat as much.

What i used to do was an increase of weight every set working my way up until failure or very close to it.
Standing Triceps 5x10
Shoulder Shrugs 5x20
Reverse Curls 5x10
Bench 5x10
Standing Dumbbell flys 5x5
Pec machine/upper flys 5x10
Abs and some cardio then after a day of rest

Squats 5x10
Deadlifts 5x5-10
Leg press 5x5-10
Standing Calf Raises 5x12
more abs and cardio then repeat after some rest

Newtonselite

Newtonselite

Awards
  • Established
Megalo