Kids and Weights

Army Guy

Army Guy

Awards
  • Established
Alright guys. I have been kicking around a few things in the mind and wanted some input and general consensus. I have 7, yes 7 kids. 6 of them are boys and a baby girl. My oldest are young teenagers and they see dad, when I'm not deployed to Iraq like I currently am, lifting weights all the time. I have brought them with me a few times to the local gym. At what age and maturity level would you all recommend starting serious, supplement free, training? Any and all input welcome as well as personal experiences!

My background is Army Master Fitness Trainer and I have been lifting for years, correctly I might add! :drillsergeant:

Army Guy

Army Guy

Awards
  • Established
have a read of [criticalbench.com/kids-weight-training.htm[/url]
good site, they being of the opinion that 13 years is a good age for supervised and light weight training. Of course the author gives it as his opinion. Anyone have any thoughts about it? Any personal experience?

lennoxchi

lennoxchi

Awards
  • Established
early teens is a good time to develop form and knowledge. do not let them "max out" or anything like that, but rather get form and exercise knowledge down. watch their dehydration levels, they become dehydrated quicker than adults do. and keep their frequency down to one day on one day off, never back to back workouts.

Army Guy

Army Guy

Awards
  • Established
Ok, given this from len, what are some examples. Possibly:
Monday Chest with 2 exercises and Tris 3 Ex
Tues off
Wed Back 2 ex with Bi's 2 ex
Thurs off
Friday Legs and shoulders with 2 each
thoughts????

lennoxchi

lennoxchi

Awards
  • Established
Ok, given this from len, what are some examples. Possibly:
Monday Chest with 2 exercises and Tris 3 Ex
Tues off
Wed Back 2 ex with Bi's 2 ex
Thurs off
Friday Legs and shoulders with 2 each
thoughts????