Can anyone advise a routine?

killamac27

killamac27

Awards
I'm new to lifting, 19, 5'10, 160 lbs. My goal is to get more mass and strength. I have been lifting for about a month now with no routine. I am just doing Arm/Leg splits. I am at about a 2300 calorie intake with a good amount of protein. I have looked at the work out starting strength but I have never done a power clean or a dead lift, I don't want to hurt myself. Any advice would be great.

Hoopie

Hoopie

Awards
there are several programs out there. what you need to do is read up on them and make a decision on which one to try. a solid workout program that i use is one called power/ rep range/ shock. It was developed by eric Broser. the link for it is

www.prrstraining.com

You can get a ton of info off his forum along with the full workout.

dusk

dusk

Awards
We have all been the new guy in the gym at one point so i know how you feel. I was the same way when i started lifting. Had no idea what to do in the gym or outside of the gym. I am not going to go into the pin point details but let me try to help out a little bit to at least give you a better foundation.

A muscle is made up of muscle fibers. When you workout a muscle, what you are essentially doing is breaking down the fibers within the muscle. Your body, being the adaptive machine that it is, says "this is no good, the muscle needs to be more prepared". So it works to rebuild the fibers to make them stronger for the next time they are put under the same kind of stress.

With that said, the body needs additional nutrients and rest to rebuild the fibers. This is why no matter what your experience level lifting is, sleep and letting your muscles have a break is very important and diet is the factor that has the most impact on achieving your goals.