Anything I can do to get taller?

The Anarchist

Awards
I keep hearing about guys who lift and grow an inch or more even in their early 20s, I'm 19 right now and around 6'1, I started lifting earlier this year and guess I grew a few cm's or my posture just got better. Anyway the main heavy lifts I do every week are clean & jerk, squats, bench, and deadlifts.

Edit: I've heard that squats and heavylifts can compress your spine, but have heard from opposite arguments that it does nothing to affect your height growth after a certain age like 17 or 18?

I want to get taller so is there anything different exercises I should do or nutrition?

Rugger

Rugger

Awards
  • Established
I've head long distance running can stretch your body. One of my neighbors grew an inch during marathon training, or so he says.

BoyFromAus

Awards
  • Established
well i'm not quite 6'1. More like 5'9 (yea kinda short). I stopped growing at 17. But for me i think it was genetics (with my folks being 5'3 in height) as well as improper lifestyle (late nights, lack of protein growing up, substances etc.)

But genetically, for most people once you're 19 you've reached your maximum point and the GH secreted by your body basically changes role. from 0 - 18, GH contributes for growth and expansion of bones.

Some lucky people grow til 21. It's common with lot of persons of Scandinavian descent and persons of African American descent. A very few more luckier people grow til 23. That's to say that their body doesn't reach peak til that age and then after that age, they stop growing and the GH function changes.

But if you're of the "lucky" category in genetics and you're 19, all I can really say is don't powerlift, rather do something like swimming or tri-athlon and medium intensity training. This develops capillaries, good respiratory system and overall foundation. And in terms of diet. More quality calories + more and better sleep (8 -9 hours a night) = more GH so yea, taller.