Soy, complicated story?

Pipes

Awards
  • Established
Yea, anyhow, I'm trying to figure out about soy. Seems like a bit of a complicated subject, without an easy answer. Here is one article I found and I just can seem to get into it much when you throw around a bunch of medical/scientific terms.

Ok well apparently I didn't copy the link. Anyway, this is really all about my protein powder. I use dymatize elite xt. I like it, and it does have soy, but seems to be lower on the ingredient list. Amongst reviews on the interwebs, they a widely mixed.

So, is there a simple answer about soy, and or soy protein? And what are the expert opinions on dymatize? I mean,to me I thought the ingredients looked good, then again I am a consumer not a scientist or medical professional.

cumminslifter

cumminslifter

Awards
as long as soy is not your primary source of protein you are fine. the minimal amounts in your protein are nothing to worry about

Pipes

Awards
  • Established
That's good news. What I've been reading mostly points to estrogen or estrogen levels, lowering testosterone levels potentially, etc. Struck my interest.

glennabolic

glennabolic

Awards
soy seems like all possible downside and no incremental upside to me. why not just stick to other sources of protein.

xR1pp3Rx

xR1pp3Rx

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
  • Best Answer
the small amounts found in protein blends will not make you grow tits or raise your estrogen and lower test.
if you like your brand of protein then great! often times its hard to find a good blended protein, and in the data it seems protein blends are better for over all muscle growth and performance.

kisaj

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
I don't think the small benefit that may be realized by eating a little soy are worth it. There really is no need to consume it.

warrior737

Awards
High Soy protein = High Estro + possibly Gyno. or so Ive read.

AntM1564

AntM1564

Legend