first bulking cycle: I want to keep my gains!

• Thread starter washingtonirvin
  • Start date

washingtonirvin

Awards
Hi all,

I am planning my first bulking cycle. I am not a competitive bodybuilder, but more of a weightlifting enthusiast who wants to be more jacked. Since I have no fat on me (I'm guessing 7-8%), this means that I stand to benefit from some bulking. I do not want to compromise my health with this cycle, especially in the long term.

Along with staying healthy, my main goal for this cycle is to keep as much of my gains as humanly possible.

Me: 28, 6', 170, guessing 7-8% bodyfat
Short Term Goal: get to 180 ASAP as a waypoint, and stay above 180.
Long Term Goal: see how 190 works for me, stay there if I like it. Somewhere around 193 could be a good long-term weight for me.
Why on earth a guy who is 6' and 170 is even thinking about gear: I have 14 years experience with weight training! When I reached my full height 10 years ago, I weighed 145. So, 25 pounds of completely lean, permanent gains. And I am pretty strong. Strong, but not big. If you know any cute girls who are into guys who can get 3 reps at 270 on the lat pulldown machine, please introduce me. Until then, methinks I need some mass. 170 has emerged as a type of natural limit for me. When I try to exceed it by stuffing myself, taking creatine, and lifting 5x 1 hour per week, I end up exhausted and with digestive problems. I was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2004. Thank god I am not sick now. But the lining of my gut is sensitive, making creatine intake and caloric increases difficult for me to sustain. This, and I am natually pretty slim. So take a hardgainer who has reached a long-term weight plateau, and give him a sensitive stomach. Sounds like he should forget about making progress in terms of mass. Unless...