Noob Exercise Question: Nausea while working out

Calium

Awards
Hi,

(If you just want to skip to my actual question, jump to the third paragraph!)

I'm 25 years old, about 6'1 and 185 lbs. Been working out off-and-on for about five years but never had the discipline to stick it out more than a month or two. I have a solid build, very broad shoulders, no belly, but I could stand to lose 20 lbs and gain some definition. I saw pictures of my father (I've never met him) and was surprised to know he was a bodybuilder. I got kind of inspired.

Over the past month, I've been working out at my school's gym. I normally do three repetitions of half of the machines in the gym, then, I follow up by doing the same to the other half of the machines after I recover later in the week. I am a novice so this approach is probably crappy. In any case, I have lost a few lbs and my biceps and upper torso area *seem* to be bigger than before.

My problem is that everytime I work out, I experience severe nausea and cramping. There have been times where I had to stop working out and run to the ****ter! (I know, TMI, right?). I've even found myself having to vomit a few times. While I am not on any steroids (I plan to eventually), I sometimes use Diet Fuel (Twin Labs) before working out. I get the nausea regardless of whether I take Diet Fuel or not.

I did a search on the Internet and really couldn't come up with any theories on why this was happening. So I decided to slow down my workout to just doing less reps. That eased the nausea somewhat but I left feeling I didn't even get a workout afterwards.

Has anyone ever experienced nausea or dizziness after (or during) a workout? If so, what did you do to relieve it?

Thanks for reading.

- Cal

P.S. How do you measure whether your previous day's workout was a success. If you're sore the next day does that mean the previous day's workout was good? Or bad? Neither?

donk

Awards