Help with training routine

cwpaterson89

Awards
Hey guys,

So I've been lifting regularly for about 6 years now and have slowly progressed into more or less a powerlifting routine. I have no intention to compete but I am a student and working out with the goal of getting stronger helps keep me sane. I work out 7 days a week, heavy reps of 4 on nearly everything and frankly my body is taking a beating. I know I'm overtraining but I hate taking days off. The following is my routine, if anyone has suggestions on how to restructure it to maintain at least 6 lift days a week and save my body some punishment it would be greatly appreciated. Or feel free to tell me I'm an idiot and suggest where to implement rest days.

Sun: bench press, dumbell bench, incline dumbell bench, declines/negatives (rotated every week)

Mon: barbell rows (forward and reverse grip), weighted pull ups (close and wide grip), bent over dumbbell rows

Tue: standing military press, upright rows, seated dumbbell military press, shrugs

Wed: deadlifts, straight leg deadlifts, heavy abs

Thur: close grip bench press, weighted dips, rack lockouts (alternate wide and close grip)

Fri: barbell curls, weighted chin ups, supinated grip pull downs

Saturday: squats, box squats, leg press, barbell lunges

Sean1332

Sean1332

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
upper/lower/off upper/lower/off. 2 days off a week, I know it sucks but you might need that. just find something to do on those days to lift-go ride a bike or work out core or something

NYiron

NYiron

Awards
  • Established
I would incorporate an off day or two. Progress isn't made while your in the gym it's made while your resting and recouporating. When you constantly bombard your body with the stress that comes as a result of the stressor, lifting, you never really allow for full adaptation and the ensuing gains.

NYiron

NYiron

Awards
  • Established