Can Fast Food Really Be That Bad?

2 Real

Banned
Awards
  • Established
I've been lifting weights for about a year now...gettin pretty swoll. I know that everyone says stay away from fast food while bodybuilding or just to stay healthy. I've been reading a bunch of nutrition facts on fastfood products, and it doesnt seem that bad. Im a busy guy and dont always have time to cook a meal, i dont eat out much either. The Angus burgers from mcdonalds, is made from real meat, has 700 calories...plenty of carbs, and 50 grams of protein...which sounds like a perfect bulking burger imo. Im a full time college student, and money isnt my best friend at the moment...so eating a 5 dollar meal at tacobell, is sometimes my best option..rather than spending 50 bucks at the grocery store. Anyway..lookin at sum of these nutrition facts, sum of this food doesnt seem all that bad. Any opinions/facts?

Ps. I've ran 2 anabolic cycles..both with fastfood included on some days, and i have made great gains from both.

stxnas

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I lived off of Tilapia, Tuna, Rice, Steamed Veggies, and Chicken Breasts while I was poor and broke in college. These are all healthy and very affordable choices (although canned mackerel is cheaper than tuna now lbs/lbs).

Fast foods tend to be high in sodium, fats, and preservatives.

JCunningham

Banned
Awards
  • Established
Fast food is bad because sodium and trans fats.. Which will raise your fat storage and bad cholesterol levels.. The protein is protein and carbs are carbs however.

stxnas

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
I will even disagree to an extent about the carbs just being carbs. There's likely going to be a lot of processed foods when eating via the drive through.

JCunningham

Banned
Awards
  • Established
I will even disagree to an extent about the carbs just being carbs. There's likely going to be a lot of processed foods when eating via the drive through.