Diet Soda?

Danny813

Awards
Im currenty cutting for my comp in 5 weeks and i have been drinking diet soda and i was wondering is diet soda bad to have in a diet? will it hurt my results? or should i just go back to drinking strickely water?

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
water and iced green tea with no sweetener

Danny813

Awards
So are you saying that the soda is bad to drink well preping for a comp?

EasyEJL

EasyEJL

Never enough
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
yeah, both in general as well as because of sodium levels. Its bad to drink in general :)

SoCo4Fun

SoCo4Fun

Awards
  • Established
All the artificial crap in there can cause water retention I believe...I wouldn't use it pre contest but in a normal cutter I still drink diet soda...sometimes its a life saver...

dpfisher

When I was in the best shape before I started lifting was when I was drinking 2l of diet mt dew a day... Not a practice I recommend but I still enjoy a couple cans a day.

bludevil

bludevil

Awards
  • Established
I'd drop the diet soda a couple of weeks before comp. Like Easy mentioned, water and green tea from there on. I'd say 1 or 2 diet soda's should be ok until your 2 weeks out due to it causing water retention.

WannabeBatman

WannabeBatman

Awards
Diet soda in general is bad for you, considering the aforementioned things listed above (high sodium, water retention, etc.). Most diet sodas if not all of them contain Aspartame which is considered to be GRAS (ok its GRAS as a medicine, but not a food additive, but still makes me wonder) (i.e. generally regarded as safe, long term affects on human body are not known). I read about a study on of Aspartame on mice which caused cancer in a large number of the test subjects who were exposed to consistent levels on aspartame over a long period of time.