Kid In MMA

brass monkey

brass monkey

Awards
  • Established
Ive been training at a pretty hardcore mma gym for about 8 months. My son who is 11:think: trains there also. The problem lies when my wife takes him or his grandparents there not impressed whith all the shady cats lurking around. And the next big thing they do not have kids classes just beginner bjj judo and ti boxing so he is in class with mostly high school kids and older there is one other kid that is 12. so he is exposed to more than he should be. I on the other hand know he not an angel and rember what it was like when i was that age. So im on the fence he is a good kid makes all A's in school. I took kempo when i was younger. Im dont know if should get him into something more structured such as kenpo or not he does not want to change he loves it, but i cant alienate him bye going to his instructer and demanding no cussing no talking about the partying you did this weekend what is everyone input should i have my wife pissed at me or my son?

Last edited:
exnihilo

exnihilo

Awards
  • Established
I think a lot of parents these days are overly controlling. Let the kid do it if he wants to, just provide guidance to correct against the influence of the more unseemly elements there.

size

Awards
  • Established
Your son should be training with other children close to his age. Introducing him to a more structured martial arts program will be better for his overall development not only as a martial artist but as a person. He should not be introduced to the attitudes and lifestyles of young adults when he is just a child.

In my opinion, much of the humility, honor, and discipline of traditional martial arts is being lost b/c the attitude of MMA. This is unfortunate in my mind.

hrdgain81

hrdgain81

Awards