Personal Trainer Certification

ryano

Awards
  • Established
Hi everybody,

I am looking into getting a personal trainning certification soon and leanning toward NASM.

Im just curious how many members here have PT certs and why they chose the certs they have.

Any input would be great.

Brennon

Awards
NASM, NCSF, and Apex if you want to consider that a cert. I'm in my fourth year for my degree in Kinesiology. NCSF was just easy, NASM because it's becoming more and more widely accepted. Do I really like any of the certs out there right now? Nah...not really. I wouldn't want someone training me that had anything less than a degree in Kinesiology or a related field, but that's just me. I see the level of education in a lot of my coworkers and it really frightens me.

jminis

jminis

Awards
  • Established
I'd go with NASM. Brennon I respect your opinion but I didn't graduate college with a Kinesiology degree and I"m one of the top trainers where I'm at. In fact most of the trainers I work with have degrees in Kines. and they constantly come to me for help and information.

Beelzebub

Beelzebub

Awards
  • Established
certifications and degrees don't mean dick unless you have experience in the weight room. i've talked to guys with both that swore i should be doing full range squats balancing on top of a fucking swiss ball for core work. he was about 165lbs at 6'. jminis, did your certification actually teach you anything or did you just teach yourself through years of experience?

regardless, if you want to personal train (which i intend to one day), those little pieces of paper are required.

Brennon

Awards
I'd go with NASM. Brennon I respect your opinion but I didn't graduate college with a Kinesiology degree and I"m one of the top trainers where I'm at. In fact most of the trainers I work with have degrees in Kines. and they constantly come to me for help and information.