Legs still sore 1 week later?

R1187

R1187

Awards
  • Established
I took a lot of time off from lifting and just recently got back into it. First leg workout I got the expected severe DOMS.

Soreness went away about 6 days later. However today when I went to do squats it felt like I was getting stabbed in the legs, and I was actually pushing LESS weight than the first workout.

I had to call it quits. Terrible feeling, but I don't want to train legs if they're still not recovered.

I've also been doing heavy deadlifts, so I wonder if I'm taxing my legs too much at once?

Anyone else ever deal with this?

Willie_h

Awards
Im looking for the same information. Im pretty new to bodybuilding and have only had max one day gap for rests between workout days. I've been told by a friend that I should have one full weeks rest roughly every 8 to 10 weeks to help rest the body nervous system. The thing is, its really hard to say 'no' to the gym..... Can anyone please give me more info, i'd like to know if one week off would benefit me or kill my strength and mass gains

RegisterJr

RegisterJr

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
One week off won't do much damage. I am not a fan, however, and would rather recommend a deload week if you feel one is necessary. A lot of people recommend them. They say you end up stronger for it.

As for OP, have your legs recovered? There could be so many factors for this happening, and some days we just have off-days. If keep hitting it, and if you're not 100% just hammer out what you can. In time the strength and recovery will improve if your diet is also on track.

diggyroxx

diggyroxx

Awards