shift work and training

bancemillstone

Awards
ive read posts that mention circadian rythms and how disrupting them is possibly catabolic. problem: im a paramedic and work 24 hrs on/ 48 off. lets assume i never get sleep on the days/ night that i work. when would be the best time to weight train/cardio etc in reference to optimum recovery and avoiding catabolism. im in the middle of a cut or rather a leaning out period now but this is a general physiological issue. also, when would be the best time to stop eating my every 3rd hour meal to avoid catobolism/ fat gain? finally i cannotsleep in the day time but get 8 hrs on all the other nights. thnx.

firefighter21

Awards
Im a firefighter and also work 24/48. as far as training i train on my days off with a 4 day split and use my work shift as a day off i have had great results with this for a while. I also prepack my meals and take them to work.

bancemillstone

Awards
thanks for the response. i honestly thought that i would get more feedback on this but oh well. i do the taking the premade food to work thing and have found that that is actually the only way to go nutrition wise in this field although most everyone where i work (fire and ems) look at me like im nuts initially. i guess where my problem is coming in is in the over training dept. cutting is fine in this regard usually, but when i go heavier im not sure if its the lack of sleep (recovery) or my workout timing that is off and obviously i cant quit my job or change up my schedule. ive been doing cardio in the mornings before work, lifting when i get off the next day and also on my full off day and getting 8 hrs when i can. thats really about all that i can do wouldnt you think? thnx.

bancemillstone

Awards