cant bulk without gaining too much fat

factsmachine

Banned
Awards
So im at 152, 5'10", about 14% bodyfat 18 years old. Ive been lifting for a few years and the biggest problem i have (i know, its a common one) i gain lots of weight, some strength and lots of fat. Im almost the heaviest ive ever been, heaviest was 158 a few weeks ago. But i had almost no definition.
So whats the way to do it? The only thing i can think of is eat for maintnence and try to lift as heavy as possible.
My training is almost all compound lifts, trying to lift slightly more each week. I train 3-4 times a week.
Im getting some progress but its not enough to notice in my body really. Still look small.

zcol94

zcol94

Awards
  • Established
Eat right around your maintenance maybe slightly over maintenance, if you feel like your gaining fat add a day or 2 of hiit cardio.... And I don't know if you have "designed" your own program or what but at your size you can't possibly have the experience required to do that so you should look into one of the established beginner programs, one of the 5x5 programs(madcow's, ripptoe's, or stronglifts's)would be good for you to try out

kenpoengineer

kenpoengineer

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Facts, I'm 5'6" and 160 lbs. At 5'10" and 154 you can't consider yourself "fat". I'm thinking you may have a self image issue here. So many 18 year olds think the media skinny is healthy. It's not real life nor is it healthy. You mention you're 14% BF, to help you estimate this, here is a collage of pics and BF percentages:

image-3561150589.jpg

I agree with post from Z above. Get on a good lifting program and recalculate your macro requirements at IIFYM dot com.

AntM1564

AntM1564

Legend
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
  • First Up Vote
You can limit the amount of fat you gain by eating at a smaller surplus. You may read that a surplus of 500 cals is needed to grow, but that is not the case. Any surplus will help

factsmachine